Robbery is categorized as a violent crime in the State of Alabama. Robbery is generally defined as the use or threat of force in taking, or attempting to take, the property of another. If you have been charged with robbery in Huntsville or Decatur, Alabama, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. We offer a no obligation, FREE CONSULTATION to all clients charged with a crime. We are the only Decatur or Huntsville, Alabama criminal defense lawyers who offer a LOWEST FEE GUARANTEE. Call 256-534-3435 or 256-350-7200. We are here to help.
There are three categories of robbery in Alabama: Robbery 1st; Robbery 2nd; and Robbery 3rd.
(a) A person commits the crime of robbery in the first degree if he violates Section 13A-8-43 and he:
(1) Is armed with a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument; or
(2) Causes serious physical injury to another.
(b) Possession then and there of an article used or fashioned in a manner to lead any person who is present reasonably to believe it to be a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument, or any verbal or other representation by the defendant that he is then and there so armed, is prima facie evidence under subsection (a) of this section that he was so armed.
(c) Robbery in the first degree is a Class A felony and has a range of punishment of 20 years to life due to the mandatory sentencing enhancement applicable to use of a deadly weapon in commission of a felony.
(a) A person commits the crime of robbery in the second degree if he violates Section 13A-8-43 and he is aided by another person actually present.
(b) Robbery in the second degree is a Class B felony punishable by 2 years to 20 years in prison.
(a) A person commits the crime of robbery in the third degree if in the course of committing a theft he:
(1) Uses force against the person of the owner or any person present with intent to overcome his physical resistance or physical power of resistance; or
(2) Threatens the imminent use of force against the person of the owner or any person present with intent to compel acquiescence to the taking of or escaping with the property.
(b) Robbery in the third degree is a Class C felony, punishable by a year and a day to 10 years in prison.
If you have been charged with robbery in Huntsville or Decatur, Alabama, we can help. For a free consultation on your robbery case, contact criminal defense attorneys Ferguson & Ferguson at 256-534-3435 or 256-350-7200.